North Carolina Youth Camp Association

NCYCA LEADERSHIP

North Carolina Girls Campsshadow

Executive Director

Jane Murray
(828) 669-2145
jane@nccamps.org

ABOUT JANE MURRAY:

Jane grew up in camping, first as a camper at Kanuga, then at Ton-A-Wandah, where she spent a little more than a decade as a camper and counselor.  She admits to being a bit of a camp prankster.  (Yes, she let the canoes out in the middle of the night; Yes, she raided the dining hall for ice cream; and, Yes, she ran certain articles of clothing up the flag pole.)  It was during her first summer as a seven-year old at Ton-A-Wandah in Maple Cabin that she fell in love with camp.  Her family shares this love.  Her mother, Arrington Cox, soon began working at camp, as a counselor and program head, bringing Jane's younger brothers along for many years.  The Cox children spent their 'growing-up' summers at Camp Ton-A-Wandah and other WNC camps, including Gwynn Valley, Kanuga, Pinnacle, and Falling Creek, as campers and counselors.

Now, a third generation of Cox campers is in the making, with Jane's boys attending  Rockmont and Camp Henry, and her nieces and nephews enjoying Falling Creek Camp and Camp Ton-A-Wandah.  "It's a tradition!" says Jane.

Jane is a native North Carolinian, born in Winston-Salem. She grew up in Columbia, SC and became enamored with the mountains from her many summers in WNC as a camper and counselor.  

Since her first position out of college (BA, USC 1985), Jane has worked in various aspects of leadership and marketing for historic properties, festivals, attractions, and various nonprofit organizations and businesses.  Her work in South Carolina included positions with Historic Columbia Foundation, Columbia Action Council, and the Children's Trust Fund of South Carolina.

Upon moving to Black Mountain, NC in 1993, Jane began a seven-year tenure in the marketing department of Biltmore Estate, until she left her position of Creative Services manager in 2000 to start her own business.  If you'd like to see Jane's portfolio and resume, please feel free to visit www.carolinacreativeservices.com.

She serves on the vestry of St. James Episcopal Church in Black Mountain and as vice-chair of the Black Mountain-Swannanoa Chamber of Commerce marketing council.  She is a past president of the Junior League of Asheville and has served on the boards of various nonprofits, including The Health Adventure in Asheville and the Public Relations Association of Western NC.

Board of Directors

PRESIDENT Adam Boyd, Camp Merri-Mac, adam@merri-mac.com

VICE PRESIDENT Page Ives Lemel, Keystone Camp, page@keystonecamp.com

SECRETARY J G Strayhorn, Camp Illahee, mail@campilahee.com

TREASURER Don Gentle, Camp High Rocks, don@highrocks.com

PAST PRESIDENT Yates Pharr, Falling Creek Camp, yates@fallingcreek.com

Henry DeHart, Camp Sea Gull, henry.dehart@seagull-seafarer.org

Denice Dunn, Camp Merrie-Woode, denice@merriewoode.com

Tom Rosenberg, Camp Judaea, tomr@campjudaea.org

Grant Bullard, Gwynn Valley, grant@gwynnvalley.com

Carrie Myers, Girl Scouts Carolinas Peaks to Piedmont, cmyers@girlscoutsp2p.org

Michaux Crocker, Camp Cheerio, mcmichauxmc@gmail.com

EX-OFFICIO MEMBER, Katie Johnson, ACA Southeastern ED, katie@acasoutheastern.org

 



Home | Contact | Press | Site Map

North Carolina Youth Camp Association,
PO Box 282, Black Mountain, NC 28711
828-669-2145

© 2012 NCYCA All rights reserved